Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Thank you for your opinion. Now please shut up.

There was an article in today's Buffalo News from a gentleman named Bob Tortorici called 'Money-hungry NFL has lost its true magic.' I started reading it, expecting to hear about how players salaries have increased exponentially, while the product on the field has stayed relatively the same, or how the multibillion dollar NFL with it's far reaching tentacles has saturated every part of our lives. Instead, Mr. Tortorici stated, as many have before him, how expensive it is to attend a game. Not that he's unable to afford it, but that he begrudges spending the money to feed "the greed machine" because of the deplorable actions of the players and fans, and lack of players who play for the love of the game anymore. I wonder if Mr. Tortorici is aware that there are any number of other cities in this country with citizens literally grasping at straws in order to get a team in their city. I think some people in this area forget at times, is that Buffalo is one of only 32 cities to have a professional football franchise bestowed upon them. It's a contentious battle, I'd imagine, for Ralph Wilson to wage regularly in order to keep the team here. Ralph has gone to bat not only for the team, but for this area and it's fans on countless occasions, in a concerted effort to keep the team here. We are part of a special history. The Bills were there at the inception of the NFL. We have one of the founding fathers of professional football fighting tooth and nail to keep the team in Buffalo AND to keep it viable in the day and age where the almighty dollar is king. It's no secret the NFL is an all powerful being with the ability to decide Buffalo is no longer deserving of a franchise. It's articles like Mr. Tortorici's which lend credence to the idea that Buffalo shouldn't have the Bills. Unfortunately, prices rise. Inflation happens. It's a moot point to continue to discuss the economic recession and likely depression when there are people across the country willing to pay the prices in order to have a team in their city. My family was in no way able to afford tickets to a Bills game. I, myself didn't attend one until I was 20 years old.

Secondly, there are still players who play for the love of the game. It's unfortunate today's media only discusses those who are out to be celebrities or who aren't able to abide by the rules and laws like the rest of us. Those players out to make a name for themselves for their antics, rather than their game play do take away from the game. That is a universal problem with ALL sports, across ALL levels of play. There are college soccer players punching opposing players on the field and yanking their hair. There are also little league parents who start fights with opposing fans and coaches. There are hooligans overseas. It's called sports. From the littlest of the little leagues to the elitist of the big leagues, it happens. Regardless of all of that extraneous fluff, there are people at the games each and every week spending their hard earned dollars, taking time out of their lives supporting the teams they bleed for. I'm sorry that experience isn't worth the $250 or $300 you would spend at a Bills game. I'm sorry your son won't feel the energy in the air when the players rush out onto the field amid fireworks and flames. I'm sorry he won't be able to sing the national anthem along with 74,000 others and watch a flyover in wonder. I'm sorry he won't be able to experience the absolute thrill as everyone in the stadium stands, cheering on the Bills when they score. THAT is what you're paying for. THAT is what you are missing. The money is secondary. It's honestly disgusting to me that you and I are both considered Buffalonians, because honestly, Mr. Tortorici, you lack that which makes a true Buffalonian. To wish and hope that we would lose our franchises, because you are unwilling to pay for that privilege is unconscionable. There are so many people here who are not only willing and able, but grateful for the opportunity in this area, especially when they look back at their lives and are able to say 'I was there when. . .' I'm sorry you don't see the value in that. I could go on. But honestly, what I'd really like to say is speak for yourself and NOT for Buffalo. Your opinion is duly noted.

Sunday, June 27, 2010

Okay Brett, time to make a decision

Anyone who knows me, knows I am huge Brett Favre fan. Huge enough to get teary eyed at work when I heard word of his first retirement, and huge enough to stomach watching that dreck they called football when he played for the Jets. And huge enough to now consider getting a purple #4 jersey if he decides to come back and play for the Vikes this year. There is a very small handful of people who are allowed to dictate what they will and won't do within the confines of the "rules" of their sports. Favre is one of those people. If he comes back, it's with the full understanding he won't participate in minicamps and most likely training camp. Bruce Smith would do the same thing and he's in the hall of fame. A lot of people don't agree with what Bruce did, but no one can question his play making ability. While it seems unfair to those guys who are at OTA's in May and June, and minicamps, and then training camp, it's also a sign of just how talented these people are. (Yes, I know Peyton Manning goes to training camp. I'm not saying Peyton is any less talented than Brett is. In fact, if anyone could hit Brett's accolades, it'll be Peyton Manning. BUT, Peyton is also years younger than Brett.) In essence, Brett can toss the ball up to whichever receiver is running the routes. It's really the receiver who needs to learn the cadence, the way he throws, and the way the QB directs the game which is something that can come through regular practices and in the preseason. Brett's been around for 20 years, he knows how to read the defenses, and no minicamp or training camp is going to be able to teach him anything he hasn't seen before. Like a true gunslinger, he's going to go out there and do what he does best, and that's make plays. Both good and bad. That's what makes him the best quarterback who's played the game. That's why he's the ironman. It's his utter love of the game that keeps him coming back, and if he doesn't have to put himself through the drudge work, (for lack of a better way of saying it) he'll be the guy that brings you to the post season. Personally, I can't wait for opening night.


***Yes, my opinion on Brett is very definitely colored by the fact that he's my favorite player and my hero. Yes, I said hero. EVERYONE should be so lucky to be able to go to work each and every day with such a love for what they do, that even through the crappy times, they still come back the next day, the next week, the next month, and the next year and go at it again with the same intensity. We can all wish to have that in our lives. I know I do. The game will be missing something when Brett's not playing anymore.***

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Well fine then!

I think the husband is tired of hearing my opinions. He tells me, "Start a blog. That way you can share your opinions with more people." Translation: I don't want to hear it anymore!

So here I am. I'm ridiculously opinionated, slightly more (or more than slightly) sports savvy than most of the women I know, and I have several letters after my last name which should give me the ability to come across both intelligently and sensibly about pretty much anything I want. I chose sports. It's a curse. While women in sports related professions are becoming more common, they are still a rarity compared to the number of men. There are a small handful of women actually sportscasting or commentating, and even fewer sports writers who are women. Well no one ever said I liked to make things easy on myself. I plan on updating this frequently, which of course may be more or less frequent depending on the season. Football season seems to bring out the best (or worst) in me, so I'd imagine once training camps start up, I'll be posting on here more often. One note of caution: my opinions are just that; MINE. You can agree, disagree, care, not care, get angry, happy, sad or melancholy. Nothing I say is meant to be taken as the be all and end all opinion on any given topic. I will admit readily when I am wrong if you can prove I am. Otherwise, I'm pretty happy believing what I want to believe. I would love hearing reciprocating opinions, because according to the husband, I love starting fights.