First of all, I promise, I do care about other sports. I know the last couple posts have been a little pigskin-centric, and I apologize for that. We are getting into my favorite time of the year though, so I would ask for a little forgiveness regarding the plethora of football related posts.
That being said, went to training camp last night at St. John Fisher College in Pittsford, NY, about an hour drive east of here. Great night for watching football practice; not too hot, not too chilly, and the sound of pads popping on the field. You heard me right. There were pads on the players on Day 2 of a Buffalo Bills training camp. And I have to tell you, there were really no instances of players standing around with twiddling their thumbs like in years past either. BOTH fields were being used; offense and special teams on one, and defense on the other, which was a huge shift from the Dick Jauron era. (For those unfamiliar, the special teamers used the practice field and basically kicked for 2 hours every practice, while the offense and defense shared the main field, leaving most of them to stand around and watch. Silly really.) I have to say, the practice had a completely different feel than it had. There were several instances where players got a little engrossed in what they were doing and perhaps hit a little harder than they normally would, and that certainly elicited oohs and ahs from the crowd. Those of us who go to camp every single year were definitely taken aback by the intensity in the practice. There were few lobbed balls, and every single receiver and running back ran through to the end zone even if the play was called. It really was refreshing to see. That's not to say there weren't a couple moments where the mood was a little lighter. We saw Corey McIntyre practicing his golf swing with one of the training stakes, and Rian Lindell practicing kicks down the sideline to the screams of 'Laces Out.' And on the subject of McIntyre, can I just say the man looks like a bowling ball on legs?! And I stand by my previous assertation that Marshawn Lynch was an Uruk Hai from the Lord of the Rings in a former life. (No disrespect meant in any way. The man deserves the moniker Beast Mode. . . he's a scary looking dude.)
All in all, I have to say I can't wait for the first preseason game. I'm not going to be as pessimistic as some of my friends and say 4 wins. . . I could say I could see 10-6, if the O-line gels well and the QB of choice is able to get the ball down the field a little more than last year. And in case you wondered, I'm pulling for Brohm. Boy had Brett Favre ahead of him. That's gotta count for something!
First off, I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!
ReplyDeleteBuffalo will probably get win against the Vikings this year (December 5th at Minnesota).
We (the Vikings) Yes, I am a Minnesota girl and huge Viking or rather Football Fan - we always have a terrible time with east coast teams esp. the NY teams and we will lose. So you can and WILL put a W for that week on your schedule!
This was the first weekend of Viking training camp - Favre isn't there yet...
Melissamoo via Twitter : )
Greatly appreciate the compliments! Thank you so much for reading!
ReplyDeleteI'm hearing a lot of good stuff about Aaron Maybin and I'm liking the fact that every time there is an altercation in training camp, he's in the middle of it. The defense needs and attitude, and if he's on the field for 80-90% of the plays and he's bringing that swagger with him, it will make that defense a bitch to play against!!!
ReplyDeleteAs nice as training camp has been so far, I'm getting sick of Buffalo being the last team year in and year out to sign their first round draft pick. Honestly, you know approximately what he's going to make based on seeding and the pay of that pick from the previous year, but for some reason, Ralph has to wait till the last minute before signing him...in this case, CJ Spiller. You know, for a team that values the draft so much and emphasizes how important training camp and reps are, it would be nice to get your prized pick into camp on time by signing him!!!