The sports universe as we all know it was flipped on it's head last night with the news that Dez Bryant didn't carry Roy William's shoulder pads after practice. *GASP* What's that? A rookie refusing a veteran*? (*Veteran as defined by this article - someone who has been in the league for more than one season, even if his stats for the last several seasons don't really indicate that.) Not only that, but a rookie that has what appears to be a lot to prove, after all the hullabaloo that happened with him pre-draft? The chutzpah! How dare he!
I'm still laughing over here, because honestly, I don't blame Dez Bryant for not carrying Roy Williams shoulder pads. Maybe if Williams actually used them to play a little more, then I could understand the uproar. But Roy Williams is on the verge of being foisted out of Dallas, just like he was foisted out of Detroit for being all talk and no action. For all intents and purposes, Williams should have been the next Michael Irvin. (Or at least the next guy who could talk the same game as Michael Irvin, since Dallas has been lacking that kind of production since Irvin left.) He's got the size, he certainly has the talent, but a lot of what Williams lacks is what he can't be taught. He can't be taught drive. He can't be taught self-motivation. Instead, his sense of entitlement is going to find him on the unemployment line because this hot shot rookie Bryant is on his heels and coming up fast. Bryant wasted NO time being signed. His show of determination since prior to the draft made the Cowboys make the reach at the time to pick him in the first round. Bryant's quote after the whole "Shoulder pad-gate" says it all.
"I feel like I was drafted to play football, not carry another player’s pads."
It's a novel concept this playing football thing, because that's what you were drafted for. Williams has had one good year since he was drafted in 2004, and that was in 2006. . .his stats from the 4 seasons since then look positively anemic at best: 2007 - 838 yds, 2008 (Lions) - 232 yds, 2008 (Cowboys) - 198 yds, 2009 - 596 yds. (Granted, he was with the Lions, so I guess I can give him a little break.) Since he's been in the league, he's caught 37 touchdowns. That's a shade over 6 touchdowns a year. He's only caught 8 TDs since being with the Cowboys. He's caught 319 passes, for 4678 yards. It's a decent average at a touch over 14, but when you calculate that he's supposed to have the talent of a number one receiver, he's averaging only 53 catches a year. (As a point of reference, Terrell Owens caught 55 passes, for 829 yards and 5 TDs on a Buffalo Bills team as the number two receiver with a QB rotisserie, offensive lines issues, and a brain dead head coach with zero play calling skills.)
I understand the need and the tradition of rookie hazing. But I also am a firm believer that respect has to be earned, not embarrassed, humiliated or threatened out of you. Make him sing his alma mater's fight song in front of the team. Have him buy everyone dinner. Roy, you've done nothing on the field to make Dez Bryant respect you. Your attitude on and off the field isn't conducive to being the number one, go-to receiver for your team. Maybe you should take a page out of Dez's book and play football.
On a completely separate note, condolences to the Cowher and Siegel families. Both Kaye Cowher and Leah Siegel were in the prime of their lives, and taken down by a disease that unfortunately is indiscriminate. As someone who's lost family too soon due to cancer, my thoughts are with you.
I'd even go a step further: throughout the day yesterday, the only people who I heard that actually had a major problem with Bryant not carrying Williams' shoulder pads were former athletes. And why were they so upset?! Because they had to do it, much like DeMarcus Ware, Terence Newman, Jason Witten, Marion Barber and Tony Romo did. Ok, I get the whole, "I did it, so you should do it mentality," but just because it's tradition, does it mean it's good/right?!?!?!?! Hazing and initiations in sports, fraternities, sororities, etc. are just a means of fueling superiority, and in the case of the male-dominant societies, testosterone. Don't tell me that these actions create a "bonding atmosphere"...personally, I've never been hazed, but I wouldn't feel closer to a guy if he beat me to a bloody pulp in front of his "brothers." Maybe I am going a little overboard here (I know not all hazing and initiation leads to bodily harm and/or near death situations), but I cannot distinguish the two examples from each other. If you are dead set on doing something because of tradition and just following in the footsteps of what has been done, read the book "The Lottery" by Shirley Jackson (which if you are a music fan, the Marilyn Manson video for "Man That You Fear" is a based on this story) and then let me know if you think tradition is always the best answer...
ReplyDelete