Ok, I will be the first person to admit that I am not the hugest soccer fan. I appreciate the talent it takes to play the game, admire (for lack of a better word) the players, and think honestly, there are worse sports out there. That being said, I admit to being a little tired of the bandwagon jumpers who pop out of the woodwork every 4 years when the World Cup is on. Really? You can't name a player on any team, but you root for some random European nation once the US is out. You can't even tell me you can name a player on team USA that's not Landon Donovan. Seriously, I like to look at the hot soccer players just as much as the next girl, but if you're going to claim to be a huge fan of the Dutch team, don't you think you should at least be able to tell me who they last played, and at least their goalie's name? Or, you're rooting for Portugal JUST because Cristiano Ronaldo is a stunning piece of humanity. Shouldn't you at least be able to tell me how many minutes are in the game?* Or what a yellow card is?** I understand it's a huge event not just for people who know soccer, but people around the world because it's another global event like the Olympics. But please, don't purport to like a team, just because the US isn't in it anymore. Don't say you know such and such country was going to go far, because honestly, you didn't. Two of the teams that were in the semis last time are out, and a ragtag team from Uruguay is in. YOU DID NOT KNOW THAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN. And if you don't even know who was involved in the Hand of God play, you should take your vuvuzuela and shove it.*** And don't tell me you're rooting for Russia. . . or England, because that's where David Beckham is from. Ok. . . I feel (slightly) better now.
*I put the question about how many minutes are in the game, and then realized, hell, half the time the refs don't know, the fans at the stadium certainly don't know, and most of the TV broadcasts have it wrong. So I guess you don't NEED to know how many minutes are in the game. . . but you should know how many minutes SHOULD be in the game if the stars align and there's no overtime or injury minutes or whatever halfcocked excuse the refs came up with to cause the game to go over it's regularly scheduled time.
**Seriously, they should give out freaking OSCARS to some of these guys rolling around on the ground. It's better acting than most of the twits out there in Lala land now. . .
***It was Diego Maradona. He's also the coach of the Argentinian team. Wiki it.
****And no, Russia didn't even field a team this year, and David Beckham didn't play for England. Seriously, there ARE other soccer players in the world who actually PLAY soccer instead of prance around from country to country admiring his Armani billboards!
Actually, "overtime" is referred to as extra time in soccer.
ReplyDeleteI only cheered for whatever team was playing Germany because I know a German girl who is psycho, and she scares me.
ReplyDeleteThat being said, I would love to understand this game better.